Basic LTAD Pathway

  • Apart from a few small modifications, the Wheelchair Basketball LTAD closely follows the seven basic stages of the LTAD model presented in Canadian Sport for Life.

    The first three stages are intended for all individuals who participate in physical activity and represent the process for acquiring basic physical literacy. Stages four to six, from Train to Train through Train to Win, represent the high-performance option for athletes who wish to build on their basic skills and take their game to the highest competitive ranks.

    Athletes with disabilities pass through the same stages as able-bodied athletes, but chronological ages and rates of progress may differ depending on the type and degree of disability. 
    LTAD Pathway

    Two Additional Stages

    In addition to these seven basic stages, two extra stages are identified for athletes with disabilities: Awareness and First Contact. These extra stages are particularly important for individuals with an acquired disability who, prior to injury or illness, may have had no contact with, and no knowledge of, sport and physical activity for persons with a disability.

    LTAD Pathway


    Sport opportunities for persons with disabilities are not always known, so people who acquire a disability may have no knowledge of what sports are available to them. The Awareness stage informs the general public and prospective athletes with disabilities of the available opportunities.

    First Contact

    The First Contact stage is where persons with disabilities have a positive first experience of the sport and remain engaged. Accordingly, wheelchair basketball groups need to develop programs that provide suitable orientation for prospective wheelchair athletes, helping them to feel confident, comfortable in their surroundings, and welcome among peers and training personnel.

    Download a copy: