Home > News


Mens National News

Team Canada 2010 Men's Team Named

Canada's Joey Johnson
compete in his 4th
World Championship.

(Ottawa, ON) –

Wheelchair Basketball Canada is pleased to announce the names of the 12 athletes that will represent Canada at the 2010 World Championships (July 5-17, 2010 in Birmingham, GB) as members of Sr. Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team.

This year the Canadian men are striving for their second straight gold medal finish at the World Championships (held every four years) following a first place finish in 2006, and bronze medals in 1994, 1998, and 2002.

The Canadian Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team consists of:

Joey Johnson (class 4.5) – Lorette, MB
Adam Lancia
(class 4.5) – Toronto, ON
David Eng
(class 4.5) – Montreal, QC
David Durepos
(class 3.5) – Fredericton, NB
Mickael Poulin
(class 3.5) – Quebec, QC
Yvon Rouillard
(class 3.0) – Montreal, QC
Richard Peter
(class 2.5) – Vancouver, BC
Robert Hedges
(class 2.5) – Wonowon, BC
Corey Smith
(class 2.0) – Ottawa, ON
Chad Jassman
(class 1.5) – Calgar, AB
Abdi Fatah Dini
(class 1.0)  - Toronto, ON
Brandon Wagner
(class 1.0) – Burlington, ON

Head coach: Jerry Tonello (Toronto, ON)

The Sr. Men's National Team was announced following a five-day-long selection camp in Toronto, ON. It features eight players who competed in the 2008 Beijing Olympics where the team won silver (Johnson, Lancia, Eng, Durepos, Rouillard, Peter, Hedges, and Fatah Dini), and six who won gold at the 2006 World Championships (Johnson, Lancia, Eng, Durepos, Peter, and Poulin).

First up for the newly appointed Team Canada will be a training camp and exhibition games at the University of Illinois March 1-7, 2010.

Both the Canadian Men’s and Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Teams are the defending 2006 World Champions. The Men also won silver at the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games.