Home > News


Espoir News

2011 Women's U25 Team Named


 Cindy Ouellet will suit up for Canada at the U25 World Championships. She is also a member of the Senior Women's Team

(Ottawa, ON) – Wheelchair Basketball Canada is pleased to announce the names of the 12 athletes who will represent Canada at the inaugural 2011 Women’s U25 World Championships as members of the Women’s U25 National Wheelchair Basketball Team.

The team features Paralympian Cindy Ouellet, whose résumé includes competition at the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games and the 2009 Jr. World Championships, as well as a bronze medal finish at the 2010 World Championships.

That veteran leadership will be in high demand when the team plays host to the world at the 2011 Women’s U25 World Championships.  The unprecedented event is the first-ever World Championships for this age group and competition will be underway July 15-21, 2011 at Brock University in St. Catharines, ON. 

The Women’s U25 National Team was announced following completion of a week-long selection camp in Winnipeg, MB. The selection camp doubled as the tryout for the Sr. Women’s National Team, which will be named shortly.

The Women’s U25 National Wheelchair Basketball Team consists of:

Abby Stubbert – (Halifax, NS)
Allarisa Haak – (Edmonton, AB)
Ashley Baerg (Dalmeny, SK)
Cindy Ouellet (Quebec, QC)
Corin Metzger (Elmira, ON)
Cory Harrower (Regina, SK)
Gabby Roberts-Winter (Regina, SK)
Helaina Cyr (Edmonton, AB)
Jamey Jewells (Donkin, NS)
Maude Jacques (Sainte-Catherine, QC)
Steph Park (Maple Ridge, BC)
Tamara Steeves (Missaussauga, ON)

Head Coach: Michael Broughton (Toronto, ON)

Assistant Coach: Karla Tritten (Edmonton, AB)

Assistant Coach: Marni Abbott-Peter (Vancouver, BC)

Team Manager: Kathy Ludwig (Toronto, ON)