More Information

Learn more about [Team Canada]

Future Championships

[2013 Men's U23 World Championship]

2014 Men's World Championship

[2014 Women's World Championship]

2015 Women's U25 World Championship

Past Championships


Tournaments and Events

World Championships-main

The World Wheelchair Basketball Championships are an elite international competition contested by the top men's and women's national teams from across the globe.

The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) governs the world championships, which take place every four years. There are world championships for senior men and senior women (formerly known as the Gold Cup), as well as for junior men (under 23) and junior women (under 25).

The first official world wheelchair basketball championship for men took place in Belgium in 1975, while the inaugural women's world championship took place in France in 1990.

Wheelchair Basketball Canada also shares a part of world championship history. The organization solidified its commitment to sport excellence and the development of the sport by hosting the first-ever men's under-23 world championship in Toronto in 1997, as well as the inaugural women's under-25 world championship in St. Catharines in 2011.