2014 Women’s World Wheelchair Basketball Championship Award Winners Announced

(Toronto, Ont.) The International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) announced the most valuable player and all-star awards at the closing banquet of the 2014 Women’s World Wheelchair Basketball Championship on Saturday evening in Toronto, Ont.

Inge Huitzing, of bronze medallist the Netherlands, was named the tournament’s most valuable player. She finished as the top point producer of the competition with 175 points and second with an average of 21.8 points per game.

Canadian gold medallists Janet McLachlan, of Vancouver, B.C., and Katie Harnock, of Elmira, Ont., were named to the tournament all-star team. McLachlan finished as the second leading scorer with 172 points and first among rebounders in the tournament. Harnock placed ninth in tournament scoring with 126 points.
Americans Rebecca Murray and Desiree Miller were also named to the all-star team, along with Germany player and silver medallist Annika Zeyen.

The local organizing committee also announced the winners of the True Sport awards. True Sport is a social movement across Canada promoting a sport system that is healthy, fair, inclusive, and fun. True to this spirit, each team was asked to nominate individuals from their team who has exemplified the principles of true sport.

The True Sport award recipients are: Leanne Del Toso (Australia), Perla Assuncão (Brazil), Katie Harnock (Canada), Yong Qing Fu (China), Emilie Menard (France), Annika Zeyen (Germany), Clare Griffiths (Great Britain), Kyoko Miura (Japan), Floralia Estrada (Mexico), Cher Korver (Netherlands), Pilar Jauregui (Peru), and Kimberly Champion (United States).

For more information please visit www.2014wheelchairbasketball.com / #2014wcbasketball.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising