Wheelchair Basketball Competition Groups Set for Americas Cup 2017

(Ottawa, Ont.) The Americas Cup 2017 organizing committee, in conjunction with the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF), has announced the competition groups for the tournament, which takes place August 21-31, 2017 in Cali, Columbia.

There are two groups of six teams each for men’s wheelchair basketball division and two groups of three teams each for women’s division. The Canadian men and women will compete in Group A in their respective divisions.

The competition groups are as follows:


Group A: Venezuela, Argentina, Costa Rica, Canada, Puerto Rico

Group B: Uruguay, Brazil, Colombia, USA, México


Group A: Colombia, Argentina, Canada

Group B: Perú, Brazil, USA

For more information, please visit www.iwbf.org.

About Team Canada

The Senior Men’s National Team went undefeated at the London 2012 Paralympics to capture their third gold medal in four Paralympic Games. It was the latest accomplishment in a sport dynasty that has placed them on the podium at four consecutive Paralympics and at five of the last six world championships.

The Senior Women’s National Team is amongst the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history. The team captured three consecutive Paralympic gold medals in 1992, 1996, and 2000, and bronze in 2004. They have also reached the podium at seven consecutive world championships.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising