B.C. Breakers Strike Gold At 2014 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Women’s National Championship

(Richmond, B.C.) The hometown B.C. Breakers upset the defending-champion Edmonton Inferno 74-57 to seize the gold medal at the 2014 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) Women’s National Championship on Sunday at the Richmond Olympic Oval in Richmond, B.C.

The championship game was an intense, back and forth battle. The Edmonton Inferno (3-1) set the early tone in the first quarter and the Breakers (4-1) responded in the second frame to emerge with a 28-26 lead at halftime. The momentum continued to alternate sides as the teams were deadlocked at 44 apiece after three quarters. B.C. ultimately pulled away in the final quarter as the Breakers attack came alive to overwhelm the Edmonton defence with clutch shooting down the stretch. The Breakers outscored the Inferno 30-13 in the final frame to seal the victory.

“We played well today and that kept the game close,” said Breakers player and tournament most valuable player Janet McLachlan, of Vancouver, B.C. “We started getting a few buckets to fall in the fourth quarter that we hadn’t had earlier in the game and that helped us pull away a little bit in the end. It was a good game and they’re a great team and it was nice to win.”

McLachlan was an offensive catalyst once again for the Breakers with a team-leading 33 points. Kylee Evjen, of Stony Plain, Alta., led all Inferno players with 21 points.

The victory marks the third national championship title for the Breakers.

Quebec captured the bronze medal with a 65-45 victory over the Calgary Rollers. Quebec (3-1) came out of the gate firing on all cylinders and went on an 8-0 run en route to a 22-6 lead after the opening quarter. The team from la belle province never looked back.

National team player Cindy Ouellet, of Quebec City, Que., scored a game-high 32 points for Quebec. Kendra Ohama, of Calgary, Alta., was the top point producer for the Rollers (2-3) with 14 points.

Ontario (1-3) and Saskatchewan (0-4) finished in fifth and sixth place, respectively.

Kendra Ohama (Calgary Rollers), Maude Jacques (Quebec), Amanda Yan (B.C. Breakers), Cindy Ouellet (Quebec), and Kylee Evjen (Edmonton Inferno) were named to the tournament all-star team.

The tournament was co-hosted by Wheelchair Basketball Canada and the BC Wheelchair Basketball Society.

For more information, please visit the tournament website at www.2014cwwbc.com.

About the Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League

The Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) was founded in 1986 and has two primary divisions: the Open division and the Women’s division. The league features wheelchair basketball club teams from across Canada and culminates each season with a national championship for both the Open and Women’s divisions.

The league is fully integrated as both divisions welcome athletes with a disability as well as able-bodied athletes to play in the spirit of competition. It often features some of the country’s best wheelchair basketball players, including past, present and future members of Team Canada.

About British Columbia Wheelchair Basketball Society

BCWBS is a non-profit organization formed in 1983 and registered with Revenue Canada as a charity since 1985. The Society provides support to wheelchair basketball programs throughout British Columbia. For more information, please visit www.bcwbs.ca.

About Wheelchair Basketball Canada

Wheelchair Basketball Canada is the national sports governing body responsible for the organization of the sport in Canada. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that is committed to excellence in the development, support and promotion of wheelchair basketball programs and services for all Canadians from grassroots to high performance. Wheelchair basketball is a fast-paced, hard-hitting, competitive sport in which Canada is held in high esteem around the world for winning a combined six gold, one silver, and one bronze medal in the last six Paralympic Games.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising