Joey Johnson Part of 2016 Induction Class into Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame


Joey Johnson

(Winnipeg, Man.) Former Team Canada power forward Joey Johnson is among the 2016 class of inductees into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.

Joey JohnsonJohnson was a force for the Canadian men’s wheelchair basketball team from 1995-2012. Over the course of his career, the native of Lorette, Man. competed at five Paralympic Games, capturing three gold medals and one silver. He also won a world championship title in 2006.

In addition to his exploits with Team Canada, he has played the sport professionally in both Australia and Germany, where he became a household name as he captained the RSV-Lahn Dill club team to multiple European championships.

Johnson is among five athletes, two builders and two teams that will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame on November 5, 2016 at the 37th Annual Induction Ceremony at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg. The 2016 inductees are:

  • Dr. Cal Botterill, Sport Medicine/Builder
  • Jim Heighton, All Round, Athlete
  • Alanna (Yakiwchuk) Hinrichsen, Athletics, Athlete
  • Joey Johnson, Wheelchair Basketball, Athlete
  • Mike Keane, Hockey, Athlete
  • Rhiannon Leier-Blacher, Swimming, Athlete
  • John Reilly, Rugby, Builder
  • 1971-74 University of Winnipeg Wesmen, Volleyball, Team
  • 1985 Bob Ursel Team, Curling, Team

“These nine recipients join our exclusive group of Honoured Members who represent Manitoba’s finest in sport,” says Jamie Kraemer, President of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. “This is an exceptional and well-deserving slate, as these inductees personify the type of excellence and achievement we strive to celebrate, showcase and preserve at the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.”

For more information please visit

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising