Wheelchair Basketball Competition Groups Set for Rio 2016 Paralympic Games


JanetThe Rio 2016 Organizing Committee, in conjunction with the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF), has announced the competition groups for the 2016 Paralympic Summer Games, which take place September 7-18, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

There are two groups of six teams each for men’s wheelchair basketball division and two groups of five teams each for women’s division. The Canadian men and women will compete in Group A in their respective divisions.

The competition groups are as follows:


Rio 2016 Group A

Group A: Australia, Canada, Turkey, Netherlands, Japan, Spain
Group B: Iran, United States, Great Britain, Germany, Algeria, Brazil



Group A: Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Argentina, Brazil
Group B: United States, Netherlands, France, China, Algeria

For more information, please visit www.iwbf.org. For more information about the 2016 Paralympic Games, please visit wwww.rio2016.com.

About Team Canada

The Senior Men’s National Team went undefeated at the London 2012 Paralympics to capture their third gold medal in four Paralympic Games. It is the latest accomplishment in a sport dynasty that has placed them on the podium at four consecutive Paralympics and at five of the last six world championships.

The Senior Women’s National Team is amongst the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history. The team captured three consecutive Paralympic gold medals in 1992, 1996, and 2000, and bronze in 2004. They have also reached the podium at seven consecutive world championships.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising