2013 Canadian National Wheelchair Basketball Teams Named

(Las Vegas, NV) Wheelchair Basketball Canada is pleased to announce the names of the 24 athletes selected to represent Canada in 2013 as members of the Senior Men’s and Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball Teams.

The rosters include nine returning players from the London 2012 Paralympic gold medal winning men’s team, and ten returning players from the women’s team.

“The three new players give our senior team an injection of youth and top-end speed, and I’m looking forward to working them into the various line-up combinations. At the same time, I’m excited about the additional opportunities for our development athletes and Futures Program players to compete internationally in 2013,” said Jerry Tonello, Team Canada men’s head coach.

“Our team is a fast, high-energy group and I’m looking forward to watching our younger players develop and learn from the dedication and motivation of our veterans,” said Bill Johnson, Team Canada women’s head coach.

The teams were selected from a pool of 46 athletes (22 men and 24 women) who attended a weeklong selection camp January 2-8, 2013 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The 12 men and 12 women named to Team Canada in 2013 are:

(athletes’ city of residence indicated / athletes with Paralympic Games experience denoted with a *)

Team Canada Men:

  • Aaron Moseley-Williams (Winnipeg, MB)
  • Abdi Dini (Scarborough, ON)*
  • Adam Lancia (Halifax, NS)*
  • Brandon Wagner (Burlington, ON)*
  • Chad Jassman (Calgary, AB)*
  • Dave Durepos (Fredericton, NB)*
  • David Eng (Montreal, QC)*
  • Mickael Poulin (Quebec City, QC)
  • Nik Goncin (Regina, SK)
  • Robert “Bo” Hedges (Wonowon, BC)*
  • Tyler Miller (Kitchener, ON)*
  • Yvon Rouillard (Montreal, QC)*

Head Coach: Jerry Tonello (Toronto, ON)

Team Canada Women:

  • Alarissa Haak (Edmonton, AB)
  • Amanda Yan (Vancouver, BC)
  • Cindy Ouellet (Quebec City, QC)*
  • Elaine Allard (St. Eustache, QC)*
  • Elisha Williams (Prince George, BC)*
  • Katie Harnock (Elmira, ON)*
  • Jamey Jewells (Donkin, NS)*
  • Janet McLachlan (Vancouver, BC)*
  • Maude Jacques (Ste-Catherine, QC)*
  • Tamara Steeves (Mississauga, ON)*
  • Tara Feser (St. Albert, AB)*
  • Tracey Ferguson (Richmond Hill, ON)*

Head Coach: Bill Johnson (Winnipeg, MB)

About Team Canada

The Senior Men’s National Team went undefeated at the London 2012 Paralympics to capture their third gold medal in four Paralympic Games. It is the latest accomplishment in a sport dynasty that has placed them on the podium at four consecutive Paralympics and at five of the last six World Championships.

The Senior Women’s National Team is amongst the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history. The team captured three consecutive Paralympic gold medals in 1992, 1996, and 2000, and bronze in 2004. They have also reached the podium at six consecutive World Championships.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising