Quebec Victorious In Gold Medal Match Against Undefeated Edmonton Inferno At 2016 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Women’s National Championship

041716-GoldMatch-Portrait(Longueuil, Que.) Team Quebec claimed a 60-56 win against undefeated Edmonton Inferno to seize the national crown Sunday at the 2016 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) Women’s National Championship at Centre sportif Édouard-Montpetit in Longueuil, Que. The Calgary Rollers defeated the B.C. Breakers to secure bronze.

Quebec’s win came after a hard fought battle against Edmonton Inferno. Quebec started out strong, carving out a 10 point lead by the end of the first quarter. The Inferno still trailed by six points at halftime but their players returned to the court with renewed intensity and took the lead late in the third. The teams began exchanging leads throughout the fourth.

With the score tied 56-56 and only a minute remaining Quebec managed to maintain possession, giving their players a chance to find the basket. Cindy Ouellet and Elaine Allard of Quebec each scored two points, cinching the lead at the last moment and leaving the Inferno unable to retaliate before the final buzzer.

We played as a team, we were only 13.5 on the floor and we had our ups and downs. It was a game of runs and Edmonton played really well.

“We played as a team, we were only 13.5 on the floor and we had our ups and downs. It was a game of runs and Edmonton played really well,” said Ouellet. “We knew they were going to be strong but we played well at the end, the last three minutes were really good.”

Ouellet paced the Quebec offensive and achieved a tournament-high 34 points in the game, while Arinn Young led Edmonton with 26 points.

The B.C. Breakers found themselves just short of the podium after a tight game against the Calgary Rollers. Calgary pulled ahead with an early lead but B.C. pushed back to tie the game in the second quarter.  The back and forth continued but the Calgary players found their stride just in time to outscore B.C. in the fourth quarter for a 62-53 win. Diane Sorensen and Jamie Jewells led the Calgary offense with 15 points each and Kady Dandeneau produced 18 points for the B.C. side.

Team Ontario (0-4) placed fifth at the tournament after round robin play concluded on Saturday.

Cindy Ouellet, of Quebec, was selected as the tournament’s most valuable player. Jamey Jewells (Calgary Rollers), Alarissa Haak (Edmonton Inferno), Amanda Yan (B.C. Breakers), Arinn Young (Edmonton Inferno), and Tamara Steeves (Team Ontario) were named to the all-star team.

About the Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League

The Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) was founded in 1986 and has two primary divisions: the Open division and the Women’s division. The league features wheelchair basketball club teams from across Canada and culminates each season with a national championship for both the Open and Women’s divisions.

The league is fully integrated as both divisions welcome athletes with a disability as well as able-bodied athletes to play in the spirit of competition. It often features some of the country’s best wheelchair basketball players, including past, present and future members of Team Canada.

About Wheelchair Basketball Canada

Wheelchair Basketball Canada is the national sports governing body responsible for the organization of the sport in Canada. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that is committed to excellence in the development, support and promotion of wheelchair basketball programs and services for all Canadians from grassroots to high performance. Wheelchair basketball is a fast-paced, hard-hitting, competitive sport in which Canada is held in high esteem around the world for winning a combined six gold, one silver, and one bronze medal in the last six Paralympic Games.

For more information, visit:

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising