Wheelchair Basketball Community Well Represented Among Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients

(Ottawa, ON) The Canadian wheelchair basketball community is well represented among recipients of the prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Team Canada’s Janet McLachlan, former national team players Jessica Vliegenthart and Jennifer Krempien, former women’s national team head coach Tim Frick, and Team Canada doctor Richard Goudie will all receive the Diamond Jubilee Medal on Friday. They join a growing list of individuals with wheelchair basketball ties who have received the award.

McLachlan, Vliegenthart, Krempien and Frick will all receive medals at a ceremony in Vancouver, while Goudie will receive his medal at a ceremony in Ottawa.

McLachlan and Vliegenthart both competed for the Canadian women’s wheelchair basketball team at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Krempien was a member of the women’s national team from 1992-2008, during which time she won three Paralympic gold medals and four world championship titles.

Frick was head coach of the Canadian women’s team from 1990-2009 and led the team to great success, including three consecutive Paralympic gold medals, four consecutive world championship titles and a decade long undefeated streak in major international competition. In addition to being the doctor for the women’s national team, Dr. Goudie also served as the chief medical officer for the Canadian Paralympic Team at London 2012.

The Canadian Paralympic Committee is presenting the Diamond Jubilee Medal to athletes who competed at London 2012 and to individuals who have helped grow the Paralympic movement in Canada.

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising