Lisa Franks Inducted into Moose Jaw Sports Hall of Fame


Lisa Franks(Moose Jaw, Sask.) Paralympic track star and wheelchair basketball world champion Lisa Franks was a part of the inaugural induction class that joined the Moose Jaw Sports Hall of Fame on Friday November 6, 2015 in Moose Jaw, Sask.

Franks spent two seasons with the Canadian Women’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team from 2006-2008. She was a part of the team that captured a fourth consecutive world championship title in 2006 and represented Canada in wheelchair basketball at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games.

Before hitting the hardcourt with the national team, Franks first made her mark on the track. She raced to a combined six Paralympic gold medals and one silver medal at the Sydney 2000 and Athens 2004 Paralympic Games. She is also a former world record holder in wheelchair racing.

Born in Moose Jaw, Franks joins fellow athletes Clark Gillies (hockey), Mike Mintenko (swimming), Justin Abdou (wrestling), Scott Schultz (football) and the 1985 Moose Jaw Generals senior hockey team in the hall of fame.

For more information, please visit

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising