Ben Moronchuk

Lieu de naissance: Edmonton, Alb.
Lieu de résidence: Edmonton, Alb.
Date de naissance: 29-05-1996
Taille: 5'9
Profession: Étudiant
Club(s): Toronto Rollin Raptors Div I
Classification: 4,5

Biographie

Ben Moronchuk a découvert le basketball en fauteuil roulant en 2010 après qu’une blessure ait incité l’amie de la famille et joueuse de niveau mondial Danielle Peers à le lui recommander. Il est tombé en amour avec le sport après avoir vu la vitesse du jeu et avoir appris à connaître l’excellente collectivité du basketball en fauteuil roulant.

Depuis qu’il est entré sur les courts le joueur originaire d’Edmonton a montré un solide jeu dans les deux sens en jouant avec les Alberta Northern Lights ainsi que l’équipe junior de l’Alberta, représentant la province aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2011 et 2015.

Sa passion et son talent pour le jeu ont attiré l’attention de l’Académie nationale et il s’est bientôt joint au programme avec d’autres athlètes d’élite pour développer davantage ses habiletés.

En 2016, Moronchuk a été choisi dans l’équipe nationale masculine senior canadienne pour la première fois et il a fait ses débuts internationaux majeurs aux Jeux paralympiques de Rio 2016.

Faits intéressants

  • Il a le surnom de Willy et en dehors du basketball il est un grand amateur de musique qui aime écouter de la musique et jouer de la guitare.

Principales compétitions internationales

Tournoi Gold Silver Bronze Autres
Jeux paralympiques : 1 0 0 0 11 (’16)
Championnats du monde juniors : 1 0 0 0 6e (’17)
Championnats du monde : 1 0 0 0 12e (’18)

Statistiques

Championnats du monde

Année MJ Min M/M Paniers marqués 3 Pts Lancers francs Rebonds PD RJ IN TB FP FS PTS P/M
M/A % M/A % M/A % OR DR TOT
2018 1 6:9 6:09 2/4 50 0/2 0 0/0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 4 4

Légende : MJ = Matchs joués, Min = Minutes, M/M = Minutes par match, F/T = Faits / Tentés, RO = Rebonds offensifs, RD = Rebonds défensifs, TOT = Total, PD = Passes décisives, RJ = Renversements de jeu, IN = Interceptions, TB = Tirs bloqués, FP = Fautes personnelles, FS = Fautes sur, PTS = Points, P/M = Points par match

Équipes compétitives

Niveau Équipe Lieu Année(s)
International Canada (ÉNMJ) Canada 2017
International Canada (ÉNMS) Canada Depuis 2016
Club (national) Alberta Northern Lights Alberta

Faits relatifs à sa carrière

2018 : 5e place aux Championnats nationaux (Division I) 2018 de la NWBA avec les Toronto Rollin Raptors (national)… 4e place aux Championnats nationaux 2018 de la LCBFR, à Martensville, en Sask., avec les Alberta Northern Lights (national – nommé joueur étoile du premier groupe)… 3e place à la Coupe du monde Défi Mitsubishi Electric, à Tokyo, au Japon (Équipe Canada)… 5e place au Continental Clash 2018, à Sheffield, G. B. (Équipe Canada)…12e place aux Championnats du monde de basketball en fauteuil roulant de 2018 (Équipe Canada)

2017: 2e place à la Coupe des Amériques à Cali, en Colombie (Équipe Canada)… 3e place au Championnat national LCBFR avec les Alberta Northern Lights et nommé à l’équipe d’étoiles à Montréal, Qc. (domestic)…  6e place au Championnat du monde masculin des moins de 23 ans à Toronto, Ont. (équipe canadienne)…

2016: 11e place aux Jeux paralympiques de 2016 à Rio de Janeiro, au Brésil (équipe canadienne)… 4e place au Continental Clash à Leicester, en Grande Bretagne (équipe canadienne)… 4e place au Défi de Toronto à Toronto, au Canada (équipe canadienne)… 2e place au Championnat régional junior de l’ouest avec l’équipe de l’Alberta et nommée joueuse le plus utile à Saskatoon, Sask. (national)… 5e place au Championnat national LCBFR Division 1 avec les Alberta Northern Lights à Kamloops B.C. (national)…

2015:  3e place aux Jeux du Canada avec l’équipe de l’Alberta à Prince George, C.-B. (national)… 6e au Championnat national LCBFR Division 1 avec les Alberta Northern Lights à Toronto, Ont. (national)…

2014: 6e au Championnat national LCBFR Division 1 avec les Alberta Northern Lights à Burlington, Ont. (national)… 3e place au Championnat national junior avec  l’équipe de l’Alberta à Edmonton, Alta. (national)…

©2020 Basketball en fauteuil roulant Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising

Ben Moronchuk

Place of Birth: Edmonton, Alta.
Resides: Edmonton, Alta.
Birthday: 29-05-1996
Height: 5'9
Occupation: Student
Club(s): Toronto Rollin Raptors Div I
Classification: 4.5

Biography

Ben Moronchuk was first introduced to wheelchair basketball in 2010 after an injury prompted family friend and world-class player Danielle Peers to recommend it. He fell in love with the sport after witnessing the speed of the game and getting to know the great wheelchair basketball community.

Since taking to the courts the Edmonton native has displayed a solid two-way game while playing for the Alberta Northern Lights as well as the Alberta junior team, competing for the province at the 2011 and 2015 Canada Winter Games.

His passion and talent for the game caught the eye of the National Academy and he soon joined the program alongside other elite athletes to further develop their skills.

In 2016, Moronchuk was named to the Canadian senior men’s national team for the first time and made his major international debut at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games.

Interesting Facts

  • He goes by the nickname Willy and outside of basketball he is avid music fan who enjoys both listening to music and playing the guitar.

Major International Competition

Tournament Gold Silver Bronze Other
Paralympic Games: 1 0 0 0 11th (’16)
World Junior Championships: 1 0 0 0 6th (’17)
World Championships: 1 0 0 0 12th (’18)

Statistics

World Championships

Year GP Min M/G Field Goals 3 Pts Free Throws Rebounds AS TO ST BS PF FO PTS P/G
M/A % M/A % M/A % OR DR TOT
2018 1 6:9 6:09 2/4 50 0/2 0 0/0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 4 4


Legend
: GP = Games Played; Min = Minutes; M/G = Minutes per Game; M/A = Made / Attempted; OR = Offensive Rebounds; DR = Defensive Rebounds; TOT = Total; AS = Assists; TO = Turn Overs; ST = Steals; BS = Blocked Shots;PF = Personal Foul; FO = Foul On; PTS = Points; P/G = Points per Game

Competitive Teams

Level Team Location Year(s)
International Canada (JMNT) Canada 2017
International Canada (SMNT) Canada 2016-Present
Club (domestic) Alberta Northern Lights Alberta

Career Notes

2018: 5th place at the 2018 NWBA National Championship (Div 1) with the Toronto Rollin Raptors (domestic)…4th place at the 2018 CWBL National Championship in Martensville, Sask. with the Alberta Northern Lights (domestic – named Tier 1 All-Star).. 3rd place at Mitsubishi Electric World Challenge Cup in Tokyo, Japan (Team Canada)…5th place at 2018 Continental Clash in Sheffield, GB (Team Canada)…12th place at the 2018 World Wheelchair Basketball Championships (Team Canada)

2017: 2nd place at Americas Cup in Cali Colombia (Team Canada)… 3rd place at CWBL National Championship with the Alberta Northern Lights & named All-Star in Montreal, Que. (domestic)… 6th place at the Men’s U23 World Championship in Toronto, ON (Team Canada)…

2016:  11th place at the Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Team Canada)… 4th Place at Continental Clash in Leicester, Great Britain (Team Canada)… 4th place at Toronto Challenge in Toronto, Canada (Team Canada)… 2nd place at Junior West Regional Championship with Team Alberta & named MVP in Saskatoon, Sask. (domestic)… 5th place at Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Nationals with the Alberta Northern Lights in Kamloops, B.C. (domestic)…

2015:  3rd place at Canada Games with Team Alberta in Prince George, B.C. (domestic)…  6th place at Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Nationals with the Alberta Northern Lights in Toronto, Ont. (domestic)…

2014:  6th place at Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Nationals with the Alberta Northern Lights in Burlington, Ont. (domestic)…  3rd place at Junior National Championship with Team Alberta in Edmonton, Alta. (domestic)…

 

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising