Gladiateurs de Laval and New Brunswick Golden at 2019 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League National Championships in Charlottetown

Variety Village (Tier 1) and PEI Mustangs (Tier 2) capture silver; while British Columbia (Tier 1) and Brampton Cruiser Rockets (Tier 2) take home bronze

(Charlottetown, PEI) Gladiateurs de Laval of Tier 1 seized the gold medal for the third year in a row in a 87-61 win over Variety Village at the 2019 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) National Championship in Charlottetown, PEI.

“The game was dedicated for Quebec athlete, James Camille, who passed away this year so it meant a lot to the team to play for him,” said Cindy Ouellet of Team Quebec. “It’s a three-peat for the Gladiateurs de Laval so it feels pretty good!”

Laval’s David Eng led all players with a massive offense effort, putting up 37 points in the final game.

In tier 2, New Brunswick took home the championship trophy after a wild final game against PEI Mustangs, defeating the home team 52-50.

“After finishing fourth at Canada Games and coming here with the same New Brunswick team and winning gold at Nationals feels really good! It’s awesome,” says Jacob Fudge of Team New Brunswick. Fudge was a powerhouse in the final game, leading his team to victory with 28 points.

Variety Village (Tier 1) and PEI Mustangs (Tier 2) captures silver; while British Columbia (Tier 1) and Brampton Cruiser Rockets (Tier 2) take home bronze.

Final Results

Tier 1
1 – Gladiateurs de Laval (4-0)
2 – Variety Village (3-2)
3 – British Columbia (3-2)
4 – Saskatchewan (1-3)
5 – Centre d’intégration à la vie active (1-2)
6 – Alberta Northern Lights (0-3)

Tier 2
1 – New Brunswick (5-1)
2 – Prince Edward Island Mustangs (5-1)
3 – Brampton Cruiser Rockets (3-3)
4 – Manitoba (1-5)
5 – Nova Scotia Flying Wheels (0-4)

MVP and All-Stars Tier 1
MVP: David Eng (GLADS)

All-star: Deion Green (BC)
All-star: Vincent Dallaire (GLADS)
All-star: Jesse McNalley (Variety Village)
All-star: Lee Melymick (Variety Village)
All-star: Ben Palmer (CIVA)

MVP and All-Stars Tier 2

MVP: Westley Johnson (PEI)

All-star: Alex Hayward (NB)
All-star: Joel Watts (PEI)
All-star: Eric Voss (MB)
All-star: Tamara Steeves (CR)
All-star: Sean Wilson (NB)

The three-day tournament is co-hosted by Wheelchair Basketball Canada and ParaSport and Recreation PEI and features eleven of the best wheelchair basketball club teams in Canada competing for the title of national champion in two tiers at the Chi-Wan Young Sports Centre in Charlottetown, PEI. The tournament is inclusive with athletes with and without a disability competing together on a level playing field.

Final results from the day can be found here.

Photos from today can be found here.

Rosters can be found here.

About ParaSport and Recreation PEI
ParaSport and Recreation PEI is the provincial sport governing body for Paralympic sport and parasport on Prince Edward Island. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that was established in 1974. The organization is led by a volunteer Board of Directors that are elected annually. It is our mission to provide recreation and sports opportunities for any and all individuals with a physical disability on Prince Edward Island.

About Wheelchair Basketball Canada
Wheelchair Basketball Canada is the national sport governing body responsible for the organization of the sport in Canada. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that is committed to excellence in the development, support and promotion of wheelchair basketball programs and services for all Canadians from grassroots to high performance. Wheelchair basketball is a fast-paced, hard-hitting, competitive sport in which Canada is held in high esteem around the world for winning a combined six gold, one silver, and one bronze medal in the last seven Paralympic Games. For more information, please visit

©2020 Wheelchair Basketball Canada | Privacy | Policy Disclaimer | Website developed by Xactly Design & Advertising